Circuit de la Grande Crête

Stages
Cercle Saint Thiébaut
Ferme Auberge Les Buissonnets
Auberge du Belacker
Auberge du Gazon Vert-gîte d'étape
Auberge du Gustiberg
Gite de la ferme du Bergenbach
Caracteristics

Difficulty ratingDifficult

Distance (in km) 57

Elevation gain + (in m) 2540

Elevation loss - (in m) 2390

Length in Days (3.5 km/h) 6 jours/5 Nuits

Reserve this tour



This tour is unavailable for your reservation dates
along the way
Day Nr. 1
Cercle St Thiebaut
GPS data - 47.80794,7.10154

The lodge “Cercle St Thiebaut” is located near the train station and downtown Thann, not far from the hikingtrail GR5. It is a point of departure and a destination or a stopover for hikers. Due to its location, the hostel can be easily reached by bus from all

...
Collegiate Church of Thann
GPS data - 47.81128,7.10160

Located at the bottom of the Thur Valley and at the foot of the Vosges, Thann invites you to discover the charm of an old alsatian fortified town.

One of the most important relgious buildings of the town is the Collegiate church of Saint-Thiébaut. It is a j

...
View of the Thann from the Lorraine cross
GPS data - 47.80871,7.09637

The Cross of Lorraine (Croix de Lorraine) was inaugurated by General de Gaulle in 1949 in memory of all the fighters who fought during World War 2 in this place. It is a monument of Alsatian resistance. The cross is illuminated and can be seen from Thann.

...
Missions Cross
GPS data - 47.80974,7.09093

The Missions Cross (Croix de Mission), on the territory of the municipality Thann, was built in 1950 by scouts and destroyed by the storm in 1999. In 2003 the cross was rebuilt with the support of the French National Forest Service (Office national des forêts)

...
Teufelskanzel rock
GPS data - 47.80842,7.04609
Nearby Hundruck pass, the Teufelskanzel rock has volcanic origins. Its name has Germanic roots and means devils pulpit.
Hundsruck mountain pass
GPS data - 47.80622,7.04226
The Hundsruck mountain pass lies at 748m forms the passage between the valleys of the Thur and the Doller. Cyclists climbing the pass regulary. The french army built this road, called Joffre Road, to supply the front at Hartmannswillerkopf during the First Wor...
Buissonnets Inn
GPS data - 47.80784,7.02738
The Ferme-Auberge Buissonnets is situated on the southern slopes of the Rossberg massif, near the village Bourbach-le-Haut and the Hundsruck pass. The farm is embedded in pastures, and keeps many kinds of farm animals.

Homemade ...
The dishes on the menu
...
Day Nr. 2
Viewpoint Fuchsfelsen Rock
GPS data - 47.82529,6.99886
The Fuchsfelsen ledge was created to allow a panoramic view of the Doller valley and the Ballon d'Alsace.
Volcano forest
GPS data - 47.82957,6.98788
The Vogelstein rocks (1164m) overhang the volcano forest and are classified as a nature reserve, due to the unique forest and the special flora and fauna.
 	Belackerkopf
GPS data - 47.83732,6.99006
The Belacker pasture (chaume) is located between the Rossberg and the Vogelstein. These high mountain pastures are typically for the southern Vosges mountains. Their were first mentionned in 1550. Cattle appreciate juicy grass and gentle slopes. Hikers pause a...
Belacker lodge
GPS data - 47.83801,6.99076
Amid the high pastures
In the vicinity of Vogelstein, rocky headlands located at 1 181m above sea  reveal the Belacker Inn. The terrace of the establishment offers a view of the valley of Saint-Amarin and of the highest peaks of the Massif des Vosges, the Gra
...
Day Nr. 3
 	Belackerkopf
GPS data - 47.83732,6.99006
The Belacker pasture (chaume) is located between the Rossberg and the Vogelstein. These high mountain pastures are typically for the southern Vosges mountains. Their were first mentionned in 1550. Cattle appreciate juicy grass and gentle slopes. Hikers pause a...
Relaxing on the lake front of lake perches
GPS data - 47.84626,6.92312

The Lake Perches, also called Sternsee (lake of the stars), is located in an old glacial cirque at 1000 meters altitude. Its name isn't due to the fish of the same name but to a transmission error. It should have been called “Bers”, the name of a pasture nearb

...
Auberge gite du Gazon Vert
GPS data - 47.85219,6.92745
An exceptional natural site
The Gazon Vert lodge is situated at 928m in a greenery surrounding. The traditional construction has been preserved as well as the view from above over the Storckensohn valley. Gazon Vert is different from the other lodges of the H...
Day Nr. 4
Gazon vert pasture (chaume)
GPS data - 47.85609,6.92295
The Gazon Vert pasture is situated in an glacial circus. The site is surrounded by big fallen rocks. Water is flowing from a peat bog to a cascade below.
Rouge-Gazon pasture (chaume)
GPS data - 47.85425,6.91699
The Rouge-Gazon pastures dominates the Perches lake. It may have its name from a bloddy battle taking place here during the Thirty Years War and the red grass.
gustiberg-09-10-13-copie-421
GPS data - 47.89331,6.92850
A breathtaking panorama
L'Auberge du Gustiberg is situated on a height of 980m and offers a great view of the Thur valley and the Bussang mountain pass, the natural border between Alsace and Lorraine. It is also a good spot for paragliding.

An institution
...
Day Nr. 5
Ramblers to Drumont
GPS data - 47.90178,6.92233

The Drumont is the highest peak of the Vosges massif (1200 m) and offers a wide panorama of the Alsace and Lorraine. From its viewpoint you have a beautiful view of the Ballon d'Alsace, the Ross Mountain, the Grand Ballon and you may even see the Bernese Alps.

...
Vol libre depuis le Drumont
GPS data - 47.90244,6.91711

The high pasture Drumont is a starting point for experienced paragliders because the slope is very low and the air currents extremely changeable.

Bergenbach Inn
GPS data - 47.91188,6.95456
A breathtaking view
The Bergenbach farmer's lodge is located on the western flank of the Thur valley at 800 m altitude. The lodge offers a view of the Vosges peaks and the village of Fellering Oderen in the valley.

Since 1978
 Jacques Simon and Marlene K
...
Day Nr. 6
Cascade Saint Nicolas
GPS data - 47.91991,6.95657
The enchanted cascade Saint-Nicolas is hidden above the village Kruth and has its name from the chapel next to it.
Chapel St. Nicolas at Kruth
GPS data - 47.91958,6.95494

The Saint-Nicolas vallye is extending over three kilometers. The chapel “Saint Nicolas des Rochers” is situated next to a cascade. Its construction in the mid-16th century is due to a miracle. A coach driver survived uninjured after falling several meters deep

...
View of the Frenz
GPS data - 47.93013,6.94808

The ski resort Frenz, above Kruth, is a good spot to learn downhill ski. Night skiing is organized in Winter as well as snowshoehiking and tobogganing.

Pause on the lake front of Kruth Wildenstein
GPS data - 47.95687,6.95868

At Lake Kruth-Wildenstein young and old may enjoy water sports and nature activities, such as the tree climbing. Above the lake thrones the ruins of Schlossberg (castle hill) ,which is currently being restored and can be visited with a guided tour. The waterf

...
View of the village of Kruth
GPS data - 47.92990,6.96500

At Lake Kruth-Wildenstein young and old may enjoy water sports and nature activities, such as the tree climbing. Above the lake thrones the runis of Schlossberg (castle hill),which is currently being restored and can be visited with a guided tour. The waterfal

...
GPS data - 47.92304,6.96879

Circuit de la Grande Crête

Étapes
Cercle Saint Thiébaut
Ferme Auberge Les Buissonnets
Auberge du Belacker
Auberge du Gazon Vert-gîte d'étape
Auberge du Gustiberg
Gite de la ferme du Bergenbach
Caracteristiques

DifficultéDifficile

Distance (en km) 57

Dénivelé + (en m) 2540

Dénivelé - (en m) 2390

Nombre de jours 6 jours/5 Nuits

Réserver le circuit



Le circuit n'est pas disponible pour votre date de réservation
En chemin
Journée n° 1
Cercle St Thiébaut
Coordonnées GPS - 47.80794,7.10154
Un établissement d'étape
Le Cercle Saint-Thiébaut est situé à deux pas de la gare et du centre-ville de Thann, en contrebas du GR5. Il sert de point de départ, d’arrivée ou d’étape aux randonneurs. Sa situation géographique lui permet d’être accessible en bus...
Collégiale de Thann
Coordonnées GPS - 47.81128,7.10160
Située aux portes de la vallée de la Thur, aux pieds des contreforts du massif des Vosges, la ville de Thann nous fait découvrir les charmes des anciennes cités alsaciennes fortifiées.

Monument religieux majeur de la ville, la collégiale de Saint-Thiébaut e...
Vue sur Thann depuis la Croix de Lorraine
Coordonnées GPS - 47.80871,7.09637
La Croix de Lorraine a été inaugurée par le général de Gaulle en 1949 en hommage à tous les combattants qui se sont battus dans ce secteur durant la 2nde Guerre mondiale. Monument de la résistance alsacienne, elle est illuminée et visible depuis Thann....
La croix de Mission
Coordonnées GPS - 47.80974,7.09093
La croix de Mission, située sur la commune de Thann, a été érigée par les scouts lors de la Mission de 1950. Détruite par la tempête de 1999, elle a été reconstruite en 2003 par la Ville avec le concours de l'Office national des forêts....
Rochers du Teufelskanzel
Coordonnées GPS - 47.80842,7.04609
A proximité du col du Hundsruck, les rochers du Teufelskanzel se sont formés lors de la période volcanique. Le nom, d’origine germanique, signifient la chaire du diable.
Col du Hundsruck
Coordonnées GPS - 47.80622,7.04226
Perché à 748 m d'altitude, le col du Hundsruck marque le passage entre les vallées de la Thur et de la Doller. Il est emprunté régulièrement par les cyclistes. L'axe, nommée Route Joffre, a été construit par l'armée française lors de la Première Guerre mondial...
Ferme-auberge des Buissonnets
Coordonnées GPS - 47.80784,7.02738
Adossée au versant sud du massif du Rossberg, la Ferme-Auberge des Buissonnets est située entre le village de Bourbach-le-Haut et le col du Hundsruck. Cet hébergement, isolé au milieu des pâturages d’altitude, dispose de plusieurs dépendances : une étable pour...
Journée n° 2
Belvédère du rocher du Fuchsfelsen
Coordonnées GPS - 47.82529,6.99886
Le promontoire rocheux du Fuchsfelsen a été aménagé afin d’offrir aux randonneurs un magnifique panorama sur la haute vallée de la Doller et le Ballon d'Alsace.
Foret des volcans
Coordonnées GPS - 47.82957,6.98788
Surplombée par les rochers du Vogelstein (1 164m), la forêt des Volcans est classée réserve naturelle de part sa magnifique forêt qui abrite une multitude d'animaux et de plantes. Elle dissimule les vestiges d'un lointain passé volcanique de l'ère primaire (il...
Belackerkopf
Coordonnées GPS - 47.83732,6.99006
La chaume du Belacker est située entre la partie sommitale du Rossberg et les promontoires rocheux du Vogelstein. Ce pâturage d'altitude typique du sud du massif des Vosges, a été mentionné pour la première fois en 1550. Ses pentes douces et son herbe riche so...
L'auberge du Belacker
Coordonnées GPS - 47.83801,6.99076
PAS D'ACCES EN VOITURE

Au milieu des hautes chaumes

Au voisinage des Vosgelstein, promontoires rocheux situés à 1 181m d’altitude, les chaumes inondées de lumière dévoilent l’auberge du Belacker. Sur la terrasse extérieure de l’établissement, le regard se ...
Journée n° 3
Belackerkopf
Coordonnées GPS - 47.83732,6.99006
La chaume du Belacker est située entre la partie sommitale du Rossberg et les promontoires rocheux du Vogelstein. Ce pâturage d'altitude typique du sud du massif des Vosges, a été mentionné pour la première fois en 1550. Ses pentes douces et son herbe riche so...
Détente en famille au bord du lac des Perches
Coordonnées GPS - 47.84626,6.92312
Le lac des Perches, aussi appelé Sternsee, est blotti dans un ancien cirque glaciaire à 1000 mètres d'altitude. Le nom du lac des Perches ne doit rien au poisson éponyme mais provient d'une erreur de transcription de lac des Bers, dénomination d'une grande cha...
Refuge du Gazon Vert-gîte d'étape
Coordonnées GPS - 47.85219,6.92745
PAS D'ACCES EN VOITURE

L'Auberge du Gazon Vert - gîte d'étape vous accueille tous les jours de la semaine (mardi - réservation uniquement via le site Internet). L'accès n'est pas carrossable ; le site est dédié aux randonneurs. Repas chauds (réservation for...
Journée n° 4
Chaume du Gazon Vert
Coordonnées GPS - 47.85609,6.92295
La chaume du Gazon Vert est située dans un cirque glaciaire, datant de la dernière glaciation. Perché à 900m d'altitude, ce site est entouré de grands éboulis et barré par un verrou glaciaire.  En son centre, une petite tourbière alimente la cascade en contreb...
Chaume du Rouge Gazon
Coordonnées GPS - 47.85425,6.91699
Le Rouge-Gazon est une vaste chaume qui domine le lac des Perches. Le nom viendrait des batailles sanglantes de la Guerre de Trente qui s'y seraient passées ou, origine plus poétiquement, de la présence de nombreuses graminées rouges....
gustiberg-09-10-13-copie-421
Coordonnées GPS - 47.89331,6.92850
Un panorama vertigineux
Situé à 980 m d’altitude, l'auberge du Gustiberg offre une vue imprenable sur la vallée de la Thur et le col de Bussang, point de passage naturel entre l’Alsace et la Lorraine. Au carrefour des sentiers de randonnée, le Gustiberg est é...
Journée n° 5
Marcheurs vers le Drumont
Coordonnées GPS - 47.90178,6.92233
Le Drumont est un sommet les plus hauts du Massif des Vosges (1200 m) et offre un large panorama sur les versants alsacien et lorrain. Il dispose d'une table d'orientation d'où vous pourrez voir le Ballon d'Alsace, le Rossberg, le grand Ballon ou encore par te...
Vol libre depuis le Drumont
Coordonnées GPS - 47.90244,6.91711
La chaume du Drumont est un départ pour les parapentistes chevronnés car la pente y est faible et l’aérologie capricieuse.
Gite de la ferme du Bergenbach
Coordonnées GPS - 47.91188,6.95456
Un panorama époustouflant
Le gîte de la ferme du Bergenbach est situé sur le flanc ouest de la vallée de la Thur à 800 m d'altitude. De la terrasse, les sommets des crêtes vosgiennes se profilent à l’horizon tandis que dans le creux de la vallée s’étalent les...
Journée n° 6
Cascade St Nicolas
Coordonnées GPS - 47.91991,6.95657
La cascade enchanteresse de Saint-Nicolas, nichée sur les hauteurs du village de Kruth tient son nom de la chapelle éponyme tout à côté.
Chapelle St Nicolas à Kruth
Coordonnées GPS - 47.91958,6.95494
Dans le val de Saint-Nicolas long de 3 km et tout proche d'une cascade, se dresse la chapelle Saint-Nicolas des rochers. Elle a été édifiée à la suite d'un premier miracle : au milieu du 16e siècle, un voiturier sur sa charrette, a survécu après avoir basculé ...
Vue sur le Frenz
Coordonnées GPS - 47.93013,6.94808
La station du Frenz, situé sur les hauteurs de Kruth, est un site idéal pour apprendre le ski alpin. Des sessions nocturnes sont organisées l'hiver. Il est également possible de s'adonner à la luge et à la promenade en raquettes....
Pause fraicheur au bord du lac de Kruth Wildenstein
Coordonnées GPS - 47.95687,6.95868
Le lac de Kruth-Wildenstein se situe dans un cadre naturel et verdoyant où petits et grands s'adonnent aux activités nautiques et de pleine nature comme l'accrobranche. Ce lac est dominé par les ruines du château du Schlossberg en cours de restauration. Des an...
Vue plongeante sur le village de Kruth
Coordonnées GPS - 47.92990,6.96500
Le lac de Kruth-Wildenstein se situe dans un cadre naturel et verdoyant où petits et grands s’adonnent aux activités nautiques et de pleine nature comme l’accrobranche. Ce lac est dominé par les ruines du château du Schlossberg en cours de restauration. Des an...
Coordonnées GPS - 47.92304,6.96879